“Connectional”

Connectional, adj. Related to the act of connecting or the state of being connected; a link, association, or relationship.

Presbyterians like to talk about being a connectional church, and it’s one of the things I love most about our identity. This is not to suggest that our connections don’t sometimes break down or fall into disuse, but they exist, and we celebrate them! And it seems to me they can be restored and utilized at almost any time and in many ways.

In my work as a mission co-worker I’ve seen these worldwide connections help find support in new worshipping communities for migrant families, and develop movements of advocacy and prayer and accompaniment for communities whose rights are violated. And just this past week I’ve been personally encouraged by two unexpected communications.

First, I received one of the occasional mailings Presbyterian World Mission sends to us, which this time included a collection of beautifully hand-colored notes from last year’s Presbyterian Youth Triennium. It brought a huge smile to my face to read those messages, and I’m so thankful for the gesture. IMG_20200104_192718719

The other was a letter from the Presbyterian Women of First Presbyterian Church, Bartlesville, Oklahoma. They wrote to let me know that they have chosen to name their circle after me and plan to be praying for me and connecting with me in the years to come.

I often say it is a privilege to be doing this work, and these gestures of love and support from fellow Presbyterians I’ve never met are a combination of humbling, uplifting, energizing, and encouraging that I feel at a loss to adequately describe. It’s one of the many reasons I’m grateful to have been born into this family of faith.

About Sarah

I serve with Presbyterian World Mission as Peace Initiative Promoter and Young Adult Volunteer Site Coordinator in Colombia. This blog is a place to share stories, experiences, and observations, both my own and those of friends and colleagues and the occasional item of news.
This entry was posted in Musings, Prayer, USA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment