To Venezuela, with love

La versión original en español se encuentra aquí.

On my way home after my last visit to Venezuela in May 2017, I wrote some words of poetry and prayer that I’ve translated below from the original Spanish. In the face of so much turmoil, political polarization, and increasingly violent protests, easy answers do not suffice. I don’t have the solution to Venezuela’s struggles. I simply offer my heart, my prayers, and my commitment to continue seeking truth, hope, and the paths of peace in the midst of this and every situation.

I love you, Venezuela
Brilliant blue of Lake Maracaibo
Majestic sweep of the Andes
Colorful blossoms of the guayacán tree
Smiles of sisters and brothers
who offer me home

I love you, Venezuela
Dark, potholed streets
Café with no leche
College students burning trash
Children asking for medicine
Politicians hurling insults
instead of proposals

I love you, Venezuela
Farmers growing food
People of good will showing solidarity
Poets dreaming the future
Folklore and creativity
Birthplace of Bolívar
where the yearning for liberty
is born anew

I love you, Venezuela
May your streets be channels of peace
May the fingers that today accuse others
commit themselves
to overcome indifference
to dream and to dialogue
to build a new world
where each and every human life
reflects the common good

I love you, Venezuela!
God is with you!

About Sarah

I serve with Presbyterian World Mission as liaison to the Andean region. This blog is a place to share stories, experiences, and observations, both my own and those of friends and colleagues and the occasional item of news.
This entry was posted in Musings, Prayer, Venezuela and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To Venezuela, with love

  1. Pingback: Te quiero, Venezuela | Andean Journey

  2. ARETA CROWELL says:

    Thank you – words of hope and beauty in the face of huge despair- may the blessings you express spread over the troubled waters!

  3. Hazel says:

    Me encanta! Amo a país, este como este. Algún día regresare a ver todo lo que Venezuela tiene para ofrecer 🇻🇪

Leave a Reply

