Sabbath in Barranquilla

It’s Sunday afternoon in Barranquilla, those two magical hours when the sun no longer beats down but still provides light. Music drifts in the windows from the street. I compare notes from morning services with the pastor who’s hosted me the past few weeks before going out to enjoy the relative cool and pick up groceries for dinner.

Suri Salcedo Park pulsates with people and music. Young and old operate bright yellow exercise equipment. Small children swarm over a large boat in the ocean-themed playground as their fathers and mothers keep watch. Food vendors sell juices, tiny cups of tinto coffee, skewers of sausage and potatoes, and grilled arepa corn bread. I can’t keep from smiling as I walk through bubbles drifting from other vendors’ stands. It’s a good day to be in Colombia!

Barranquilla is my new home base for my second term as regional liaison for the PCUSA in the Andean countries of South America. As much as I do love La Paz, the extreme elevation wasn’t a good match for me and the constant comings and goings inherent to my regional ministry–it can be hard for a body to learn to take advantage of the limited oxygen available over 12,000ft above sea level! So here I am, making myself at home in this city I’ve loved since I first visited seven years ago.

I fully intend to get back on track with the blog, so please feel free to let me know what you’d like to hear about! In the meantime, I invite you to:

take a look at the blog archives–here’s one from a 2008 visit to Urabá

sign up to receive my quarterly newsletter via email

make an online donation to support my work

Thanks for reading!

About Sarah

I serve with Presbyterian World Mission as liaison to the Andean region. This blog is a place to share stories, experiences, and observations, both my own and those of friends and colleagues and the occasional item of news.
This entry was posted in Colombia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

