Things I love about La Paz #5

#5 Apthapi

An apthapi can be described as the altiplano version of a potluck. Here in the city, food may be brought in casserole dishes or pots, or simply wrapped up in an aguayo blanket. The blankets can be conveniently opened and set out on the floor, indoors or out, and everyone helps herself to a handful or bowlful. Potatoes in diverse forms and varieties (such as chuño, papalisa, and sometimes my favorite–oca) are usually plentiful. Other standards include cooked bananas or sweet plantains, corn, fava beans, and cheese. I personally love eating with my hands, but as a foreigner and pampered guest I’m frequently offered a bowl and spoon. As each person finishes eating, he says “Gracias” to those who have shared the meal with him.

"Apthapi at Manantial de Vida church"

Apthapi at Manantial de Vida church

#4 People power

#3 Yaaaa!

#2 Graffiti

#1 Vistas

About Sarah

I serve with Presbyterian World Mission as liaison to the Andean region. This blog is a place to share stories, experiences, and observations, both my own and those of friends and colleagues and the occasional item of news.
This entry was posted in Bolivia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Things I love about La Paz #5

  1. phyllis stutzman says:

    A precious scene. Beautiful photo. Your current “things I love…” series is heartwarming. I enjoy it.

  2. Pingback: Things I love about La Paz #6 | Andean Journey

  3. Pingback: Things I love about La Paz #7 | Andean Journey

Leave a Reply

