Things I love about La Paz #1

I’m in my final week as a resident of La Paz, Bolivia, and very sad to be saying goodbye. By way of tribute, I want to share some of my favorite things about life in this amazing city. My hope is that this will be the first of a post per day before I leave. Enjoy!

#1 The Vistas

La Paz and the surrounding area are filled with breathtaking views. I’ll miss:

looking out my window, across the city, to see the mountains beyond and the bluest sky;

DSCN3914

 

the snaggle-tooth formation of la muela del diablo;

DSCN3323

 

the otherworldly rock formations of Valle de la Luna and on the slopes all around;

DSCN0917

the blanket of city lights covering the slopes at night;

DSCN3227

and, of course, Illimani, the emblematic mountain that stands watch over La Paz.

DSCN1006 - Version 2

About Sarah

I serve with Presbyterian World Mission as liaison to the Andean region. This blog is a place to share stories, experiences, and observations, both my own and those of friends and colleagues and the occasional item of news.
This entry was posted in Bolivia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Things I love about La Paz #1

  1. Pingback: Things I love about La Paz #2 | Andean Journey

  2. Pingback: Things I love about La Paz #3 | Andean Journey

  3. Jean Norris says:

    What great photos!

    Jean Norris, San Francisco Presbytery Joining Hands

  4. Pingback: Things I love about La Paz #4 | Andean Journey

  5. I love your telling these things that you love, dear Sarita, and sorry you have to leave.

  6. Pingback: Things I love about La Paz #5 | Andean Journey

  7. Areta Crowell says:

    Having watched several days of your “farewell”- I would say “YAAAA”- but know it does not mean what I want to express.. so YEAH is better! Thank you for all of this! In many ways you should have posted all this long ago… but I know that was impossible until now, when your heart can rule what you think- and send.Blessings to you as you are to us! Areta

  8. Pingback: Things I love about La Paz #6 | Andean Journey

  9. Pingback: Things I love about La Paz #7 | Andean Journey

Leave a Reply

