Beautiful Bolivia

As I prepare to bid Bolivia farewell for a time, I find myself ever more appreciative of the remarkable beauty of the land itself, as well as the people. I’ve written before about the winter solstice celebrations, meeting child miners in Potosí, a wedding celebration, and Christmas lights and sunny Sunday mornings in the Prado of La Paz. In these rainy days I can get tired of the dreary weather, but when the clouds part and I catch a glimpse of luminous Illimani with a fresh layer of snow glistening in the late afternoon sunlight, a string of gray stormy days seems a small price to pay.

My first glimpse of La Paz

My first glimpse of La Paz

I’ll need to post some more photos sometime (you can see some older ones in the Flickr account linked on the sidebar). For now, this week I noticed a couple of mentions of the Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia’s enormous salt flat, one of the flattest places on Earth and scene of striking photographs like this one from National Geographic’s Travel 365. At this time of year it’s covered in water that creates amazing mirror effects. I only looked at the pictures in this San Francisco Chronicle piece, but there’s a story about the journey as well. I haven’t made it there yet myself, but hope to have the opportunity soon!

If you ever have the chance to visit Bolivia, I encourage you to do so. It’s a place unlike any other I know.

About Sarah

I serve with Presbyterian World Mission as liaison to the Andean region. This blog is a place to share stories, experiences, and observations, both my own and those of friends and colleagues and the occasional item of news.
This entry was posted in Bolivia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

