Christmas in La Paz

This year I’ve stayed put in my home base of La Paz for the holidays. Sad to be away from family and friends in California, but grateful for a break from travel and the chance to lean on the kindness of my friends here. I’ve used the time to relax at home with puzzles and Christmas card-making, and get together with friends.

DSCN4992

At Luz y Verdad church I helped put together goody bags for young and old, and brought some Christmas cookies as a treat for our special Sunday lunch. We didn’t have a Christmas Eve service there, so I went to La Paz Community Church with my dear friends the Bakers and enjoyed singing beloved carols in English–closing with “Silent Night” by candlelight. The Bakers invited me to spend the night at their home, so I was blessed with friendly companionship and the chance to share in the enthusiasm their four young boys bring to the celebration.

One of my favorite things about Christmas here is the way the Prado in the center of town is filled with lights and displays and music. On Saturday night I just happened to be walking by when a children’s choir was offering an open-air Christmas concert. I didn’t have my camera with me, so I went out again on Sunday night to take a few pictures and enjoy meandering up the boulevard among lots of Bolivian families.

DSCN5001 DSCN5002 DSCN5005 DSCN5021 DSCN5050 DSCN5074

I hope your Christmas season

is filled with light and warmth and love!

DSCN5036

About Sarah

I serve with Presbyterian World Mission as liaison to the Andean region. This blog is a place to share stories, experiences, and observations, both my own and those of friends and colleagues and the occasional item of news.
This entry was posted in Bolivia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

