Carnaval!

I spent the past few days in Barranquilla, Colombia’s carnaval epicenter, and thought I’d share a little of the colors and energy that go with it. I didn’t go to the big parades this year (I did mostly more relaxed things with friends and their families) but did finally put together a short montage of video clips from last year. These are just a few of the various Colombian dances (mostly cumbia) bookended by the popular and highly entertaining marimonda troupe of Barrio Abajo.

I enjoy soaking up some of the exuberance and excess before entering into the prolonged reflections of Lent. Now I’m back in La Paz, listening to incessant firecrackers that accompany the local celebrations here, preparing for two busy weeks of travel with Red UMAVIDA around Bolivia. Maybe next year I’ll make it to Bolivia’s big parade in Oruro!

Blessings to you this day and in the season ahead. Enjoy some decadent food, and do something silly with folks you love!

About Sarah

I serve with Presbyterian World Mission as liaison to the Andean region. This blog is a place to share stories, experiences, and observations, both my own and those of friends and colleagues and the occasional item of news.
This entry was posted in Colombia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

