Looking back

At Inyo Craters (California) in August 2011

I’m back in La Paz again after a trip to Peru and some vacation time in California. No more travel plans outside of Bolivia for several months now, so I’m hopeful that I will settle into a somewhat more regular rhythm and catch up on sharing stories of what’s been happening. It’s hard to believe, but I’m coming up on a year of living here, and it’s already been over a year since I began my call as regional liaison in the Andean countries with PC(USA). It’s been busy, but filled with beautiful opportunities and encounters, as well as challenges. Throughout it all, I have been richly blessed.  I am filled with gratitude for the places God has taken me over the past year, and the ways I have been invited into relationship with mission partners from the U.S. church and from the churches in this region.

Just to name a few:

  • Ordination as Minister of Word and Sacrament on September 12, 2010
  • Visiting Starr Presbyterian Church and friends in Detroit
  • First glimpses of Bolivia on October 14, 2010
  • Being embraced by the Luz y Verdad congregation of the Iglesia Presbiteriana Independiente en Bolivia (IPIB)
  • New friends from Red UMAVIDA, the IPIB, and current and former mission workers who have helped me get my bearings and surrounded me with community and laughter
  • Three visits with partners and mission personnel in Peru (posts on the first of those visits: visiting Ayacucho, preaching with translation, and Joining Hands Peru)
  • Deepening relationship with the churches of Colombia, celebrating the first Colombia Mission Network meeting held in Colombia, and experiencing Barranquilla’s carnaval for the first time
  • Meeting the Iglesia Presbiteriana de Venezuela and being inspired by the way they are in ministry together as a diverse church
  • Welcoming my parents and sister for a visit, and going to Copacabana on Lake Titikaka for the first time
  • Celebrating winter solstice with the community of Chojasivi
  • Participating in Big Tent 2 in Indianapolis
  • Returning to First Presbyterian, Gardena, the church that baptized me, to preach and share in worship and sacrament
  • Time in the mountains in California with family, and reuniting with friends at Shadow Hills Presbyterian Church and other corners of my LA life
  • Settling in again in La Paz, now with a colleague/housemate, Chenoa Stock, and exploring new fruits and yoga classes together

I am so grateful for the support received in my first year of this ministry–so may who have read my blog and newsletters, sent cards and emails and messages, offered financial support, and held me in thought and prayer.

Thank you! Here’s to another year of joyful participation in God’s mission.

About Sarah

I serve with Presbyterian World Mission as liaison to the Andean region. This blog is a place to share stories, experiences, and observations, both my own and those of friends and colleagues and the occasional item of news.
This entry was posted in Mission, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Looking back

  1. nikkie says:

    Great post, thanks a lot for entertaining🙂

Leave a Reply

