Acción de Gracias

I want to offer a word of thanks today for all those who have supported and guided and taught and challenged me. I know that I would not be who I am–or where I am–today if it were not for the presence and the love of countless people in numerous places around God’s good earth. And so I give thanks for those I have met in California, Colorado, North Carolina, Uruguay, New Mexico, Buenos Aires, Chicago, New York, Ohio, Colombia, Alabama, Texas, Georgia, Washington, Michigan, Kentucky, and, most recently, Bolivia.

I hope that today you have had at least a small experience of joy, and that you know yourself to be loved. I was blessed to share in fun, food, and fellowship with some other U.S. mission workers I’ve met here, and their friends and families. We even had a time of hymn-singing which helped me feel close to my family far away, since the first verse of “For the Beauty of the Earth” is the Henken family mealtime prayer. I have so much to be thankful for, but this sums it up well.

For the beauty of the earth,
For the glory of the skies,
For the love which from our birth
Over and around us lies,
Lord of all, to Thee we raise
This our hymn of grateful praise.

About Sarah

I serve with Presbyterian World Mission as liaison to the Andean region. This blog is a place to share stories, experiences, and observations, both my own and those of friends and colleagues and the occasional item of news.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Acción de Gracias

  1. Liz and Bill Branch says:

    Amen, Sarah! We are grateful that you are part of our lives and pray for your ministry in the Andean region. Bill used parts of “For the Beauty of the Earth” on Thanksgiving Day (yesterday) when he led noonday prayers at St Giles’ Cathedral in Edinburgh. What a joy to realize that our worship transcends time and place to unite all of us around the world.
    Peace,
    Liz and Bill

  2. Areta Crowell says:

    Dear Sarah
    I was wondering how your Thanksgiving Day would have been – this is the happiest of ways to remember and be thankful! Cyndie, Wendy and Octavio came back from the recent Peru trip very encouraged with progress; ready for the installation trip to come next! Hope you can connect when that time comes!
    You would have loved our Presbytery meeting last Saturday – the SG 3 ( Rob,Cyn, Wendy) did Living Waters workshop and our LAC-USC Chaplain did one too. The Triennium Youth led the worship – which Janet orchestrated – wonderful! It was a time of joy!
    I attended the Moderators’ Conference in Louisville – glad to be with our new Moderator Elder Cyndie Bolbach – she is “awesome” as the kids say! Now my work really gets going! We will have a new Exec presbyter – Ken Baker- as of Jan 1.I am thankful for the positive energy all around.
    Blessings to you! Areta

Leave a Reply

