What’s in a name?

I’ve delayed starting this new blog for months, puzzling over what to call it. Names are important to me, so I wanted to get it right! I called in the help of some friends, and among many silly suggestions they offered a couple that I liked: “Peace of the Andes” and “Raggedy Andes”. Those have a nice ring to them–or at least a certain punniness!

For now, I’ve settled on “Andean Journey” because the image of the journey has been significant in my life so far. We are pilgrims on a journey, which in a sense is shared by the whole creation but also is unique for each one of us, with our multiplicity of perspectives and experiences. I am taking a new step on the journey, deeper into the life of brothers and sisters in Latin America broadly and four countries of the Andean region specifically. I look forward with great anticipation to the many people I will meet and the things I will hear, taste, touch, and discover in the days to come. And I invite you to join me on the journey.

In case anyone’s interested, I’ve imported the entries from my old blog below, these were primarily written during visits to Colombia. (And, incidentally, that blog was called “One Long Road” so clearly this traveling/journeying theme keeps coming back! Maybe it has something to do with the way accompaniment always seems to have an active feel.)

Enjoy!

About Sarah

I serve with Presbyterian World Mission as liaison to the Andean region. This blog is a place to share stories, experiences, and observations, both my own and those of friends and colleagues and the occasional item of news.
This entry was posted in Mission and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s in a name?

  1. Andrew Berg says:

    Sarah, I’m excited to stay in touch through the interweb. Margarita and I chose a journey name/theme as well for many of the same reasons.

    -Andrew

Leave a Reply

