Walking Together

On somewhat short notice, I was asked to preach at Comunidad del Camino Presbyterian Church yesterday. I accepted the invitation, with some hesitation because of the limited time I would have to prepare, but I am so glad that I did. It was wonderful to be with Comunidad del Camino again–they are the first church I visited here in Colombia. And the lectionary texts for the day were so beautiful, the sermon came together easily.

I spoke about community, using the passages for the day from Nehemiah and 1 Corinthians. I continue to be amazed by the nature of the preaching event, how the Word is illuminated and transmitted in a special way through prayerfully guided speech. I am still very new to preaching–I believe yesterday was my ninth sermon, including the two I prepared for preaching class last spring. I find it intimidating to a certain degree, but I love it.

I spoke about the importance of really living and being in community, not just individuals but an interdependent whole. I was nervous at first, but once I got going I felt much more at ease. It was a very moving experience for me, and it seemed appropriate to speak about community here where I have learned so much about what that word truly means.

About Sarah

I serve with Presbyterian World Mission as liaison to the Andean region. This blog is a place to share stories, experiences, and observations, both my own and those of friends and colleagues and the occasional item of news.
This entry was posted in Colombia, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

